After the Nov. 3, 2020, General Election, no winner was declared for Levelland City Council District A. There will be a Runoff Election December 15, 2020 with two candidates on the ballot: Pete Cunningham and Jim Myatt. Click below for the official Notice of Runoff Election.

Notice of Runoff Election- 2020

All regular elections for Levelland City Council are held on the Texas General Election date which is the first Saturday in May. The May election was postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic, and was rescheduled for November 3, 2020. 

Order for Election- Nov 3, 2020

Hockley County Elections Information -click to go to the Hockley County Elections website

District A has three candidates that have signed up for a place on the ballot. They are incumbent Jim Myatt,  Billy Youngblood and Pete Cunningham. As per the election orders from the Secretary of State, they are the only names that can appear on the ballot in November. 

Resolution Postponing Election 

For District C- Breann Buxkemper was the only candidate that applied for a place on the District C ballot so she was declared the winner at the April 6, 2020 meeting and sworn into that position at the June 1, 2020 meeting.

Resolution Declaring Winner of District C

In even numbered years, elections are held in District A and District C. In odd numbered years, elections are held in District B and District D. An election for city mayor is held every three years.

If there is only one candidate in each district, Texas state election law allows us to cancel the election and declare the single candidate elected to the seat. 

In order to be declared the winner of a contested election, one candidate must get more than 50% of the votes in the district. If no candidate gets the 50% then the City will hold a run-off election between the top two candidates.

May 2020 Election Information